Recording, rehearsing, and other things…

I have not been writing about things I’ve been doing lately. I’ve been too busy doing the things that I would have written about. There is not enough time to do everything I would like to do.

Anyway, since I last wrote, I’ve had a few shows. All of them have been good…but that is all I can remember.

Mainly I have been recording, writing and rehearsing.

Recording:
a. three Johnny Unicorn albums (Not Afraid of the Open Space, Thinking Hard to Overcome Nervousness, and Heavy Jugs to the Moon). I have added an album onto my list because I wanted to make an album that contained all the “entertaining” songs I play live, including “Bullcrap” and “Aware of the Bear.”
b. at least one Phideaux album (Snowtorch…keys and sax). I have been playing keyboard bits here and there for a couple of years on this album, and I have heard this thing progressing into a monster of a piece of music. It will be coming out soon and it is going to be mind-blowing. I’ve heard it.
c. one Horace Pickett album (accordion, sax and bass clarinet). Horace Pickett is recording their debut album, and it sounds great. I’m excited to be a part of the band. It’s one of the best bands I’ve heard.

Rehearsing:
a. Johnny Unicorn band for future shows. I’ve been rehearsing a band consisting of me on guitar and possibly keyboard, Naomi on synth (mainly synth bass) and Roy on drums. We are rehearsing at a leisurely pace and when we are ready with a full set, we will take it to the stage. It’s going to be a tight, amazing band. I’m happy to be working with these people.
b. Phideaux for Rosfest 2011. Phideaux is playing Rosfest 2011, the big progressive rock festival out in Pennsylvania, “the Progressive Rock State.”

Writing: two Johnny Unicorn albums (Distant Exile and the Neapolitan). These two albums contain essentially four songs total. These are my longest songs to date. I’ve also written a couple of jokes.

Other than that, I’ve been drinking juice.

Leave a Reply

