JU Tour Update – Lansing, MI

Lansing, MI

Lansing, MI

Josie and Chauncey at the GTG House.

My good friends at GTG invited me to perform at Mac’s with them. It’s always a good time performing with the Good Time Gang. This night was no exception. Upon arriving in town, I did an interview with Lansingmusic.tv’s Sean Bradley.

Later, I performed my solo set, finally, after a month of touring as a backing musician (which I love, but I really started to get antsy not being the center of attention, you know?). The other touring band didn’t show up, so I went a couple songs longer than I was planning on.

The Playback was great rock music with what appeared to me to be a touch of 2nd wave ska, but I’m not sure I’m interpreting that right. I was especially drawn to the bassist’s sense of melody and rhythm.

The Plurals tore the place down. They played nonstop, and were super-energetic, and were funny and exciting and really ended the night well. The crowd left happy that night.

What a beautiful night. It’s so good to be back in Michigan. It’s hard to leave. But at the same time, I’m excited to get back to Seattle.

I would like to give a special thanks to Josh David for just being an awesome fan.

Check out this review of my set by Sean Bradley of Lansingmusic.tv:
http://lansingmusic.tv/blog/2010/09/06/christmas-in-september-johnny-unicorn-at-macs-bar-review/
http://lansingmusic.tv/blog/2010/09/17/johnny-unicorn-interview/

2 responses to “JU Tour Update – Lansing, MI

  1. Johnny unicorn,
    I just wanted to let you know how you made my night tonight at lemonjellos in holland. You’re truly amazing. I want to move to Seattle to be closer to your amazing music, but not in a creepy way.

    Sincerely,
    Danielle

  2. Thank you Danielle! Keep a look out next Spring if you’re still living in Holland for my tour.

Leave a Reply

